chakras for beginners, what are the 7 chakras and what do they mean, 7 chakra explanation, 7 chakra crystals

Chakras For Beginners: What Are The 7 Chakras And What Do They Mean?

What Are The 7 Chakras?

The 7 Chakras are different wheels, or energy centers in the human body. Without any Chakra blockages, energy flows smoothly throughout the body and allows for full balance of the mind, body, and spirit. 

The 7 Chakras and What They Mean:

1. The Root Chakra

Root Chakra Color: Red

root chakra, root chakra healing, root chakra unblock, root chakra crystals, root chakra stones

The Root Chakra is linked to your earth element, and is the foundation in which our body and energy centers are built on. The Root Chakra, or Muladhara, is all about grounding and connecting you closer to your roots of Mother Gaia.

Root Chakra Location: Base of Spine

Root Chakra Affirmation: "I am grounded, I trust my body, I feel safe and secure in my body"

Root Chakra Crystals: Smoky Quartz, Shungite, Obsidian, Hematite

2. The Sacral Chakra

Sacral Chakra Color: Orange

sacral chakra, sacral chakra healing, sacral chakra unblock, sacral chakra crystals, sacral chakra stones

The Sacral Chakra, also known as the Svadhishthana Chakra, is associated with sensuality and creativity. When the Sacral Chakra is unblocked and activated, it allows pure enjoyment and balance of life!

Sacral Chakra Location: Lower Abdomen

Sacral Chakra Affirmation: "I am a sexual, creative being"

Sacral Chakra Crystals: Carnelian, Tiger Eye, Orange Calcite, Red Jasper

3. The Solar Plexus Chakra

Solar Plexus Chakra Color: Yellow

solar plexus, solar plexus chakra, solar plexus healing, solar plexus unblock, solar plexus crystals, solar plexus stones

Solar Plexus Chakra, also known as the Manipura Chakra, is associated with our ego and feelings of self-worth and relationship to power. The Solar Plexus Chakra directly affects your confidence, energy, and activity levels.

Solar Plexus Chakra Location: Upper Abdomen

Solar Plexus Chakra Affirmation: "I am confident in who I am"

Solar Plexus Chakra Crystals: Pyrite, Citrine, Bumblebee Jasper, Agate

4. The Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra Color: Green

heart chakra, heart chakra crystals, heart chakra stones, heart chakra healing, heart chakra unblock

The Heart Chakra, or Anahata Chakra, is associated with our ability to love in all forms-- romantic, platonic, or the love for self. The openness of our Heart Chakra represents our level of compassion and empathy for ourselves and others.

Heart Chakra Location: Center of Chest

Heart Chakra Affirmation: "I am a vessel of both giving and receiving love"

Heart Chakra Crystals: Rose Quartz, Malachite, Fluorite, Flower Agate

5. The Throat Chakra

Throat Chakra Color: Light Blue

throat chakra healing, throat chakra, throat chakra crystals, throat chakra unblock, throat chakra stones

The Throat Chakra, or Vishudda Chakra, is associated with self-expression, communication, and speaking your truth.

Throat Chakra Location: Throat

Throat Chakra Affirmation: "I speak my truth"

Throat Chakra Crystals: Blue Apatite, Blue Lace Agate, Amazonite, Turquoise

6. The Third Eye Chakra

Third Eye Chakra Color: Dark Blue

third eye chakra, third eye crystals, third eye chakra crystals, third eye chakra unblock, third eye chakra healing

Your Third Eye Chakra, or Anja, is linked to your intuition, awareness and spiritual connection. When we awaken our Third Eye Chakra, wisdom and universal connection flows easily through us. It allows us to tune in and trust our own energy.

Third Eye Chakra Location: Center of Forehead (between the eyes)

Third Eye Affirmation: "I am intuitive"

Third Eye Chakra Crystals: Labradorite, Sodalite, Lapis Lazuli, Blue Tiger Eye

7. The Crown Chakra

Crown Chakra Color: Purple/White

crown chakra, crown chakra healing, crown chakra unblock, crown chakra crystals, crown chakra stones

The Crown Chakra, also known as the Sahasrara Chakra, is your direct connection to divinity and enlightenment. It supports communication to Spirit and understanding of the universe.

Crown Chakra Location: Peak of Head

Crown Chakra Affirmation: "I am one with the Cosmos"

Crown Chakra Crystals: Amethyst, Clear Quartz, Selenite, Lepidolite


How to Unblock Chakras

If you've been feeling unbalanced in any of your energy centers, there are many different ways to unblock each of your chakras. Using healing tools and activating those parts of your body is key to clear any stagnant energy in your body. We suggest stretching, yoga, and using crystals focused on parts you are trying to clear as well as being intentional about how you navigate the world.

How to unblock your Root Chakra:

  • Walk around outside barefoot
  • Practice root yoga poses
  • Carry Hematite with you

How to unblock your Sacral Chakra:

  • Speak positive affirmations in the mirror
  • This Chakra is connected to the element of water, so indulging in a fresh glass of ice water does wonders
  • Carry Carnelian with you

How to unblock your Solar Plexus Chakra:

  • Speak self-esteem affirmations
  • Drink Chamomile tea
  • Carry Citrine with you

How to unblock your Heart Chakra:

  • Write a list of everything you are grateful for
  • Volunteer or donate to a good cause
  • Carry Rose Quartz with you

How to unblock your Throat Chakra:

  • Make an effort to communicate your truth openly, honestly, and with good intention
  • Speak affirmations centered around your goals
  • Carry Blue Apatite with you

How to unblock your Third Eye Chakra:

  • Go outside and look at the stars
  • Start a dream journal and write in it every morning
  • Carry Labradorite with you

How to unblock your Crown Chakra:

  • Meditate and focus on the energy of the universe
  • Burn Palo Santo in your sacred spaces
  • Carry Amethyst with you

If one of your Chakras feels unbalanced, you've come to the right place! Find the most magical crystals to unblock any of your energy centers here.